NSIN X-Force is an opportunity for technologists and entrepreneurs to serve their country by solving real-world national security problems in collaboration with the United States military.

Summer 2020 Cohort

The NSIN X-Force Program is now accepting applications for its 2020 Summer Cohort. The program, which offers both full-time and remote, part-time opportunities, begins on June 1 and runs through August 31, 2020. The application period will close on February 29, 2020.

There are currently two versions of the X-Force program:

  1. X-Force Fellowship: a full-time, in-person, paid summer fellowship program
  2. X-Force Remote: a part-time, remote, volunteer opportunity

X-Force is open to U.S. citizens at the undergraduate and graduate level. Participants possess a diverse set of skills ranging from mobile and web app development, data analysis and visualization, hardware prototyping, social media strategy, and technology scouting. Fellows are paid a competitive stipend and provided with a small budget for travel and material expenses. X-Force Remote volunteers are unpaid and are required to sign a Volunteer Services Agreement.

To Apply

To apply for the 2020 X-Force Summer Cohort by February 29, 2020, complete the application.

About X-Force

The NSIN X-Force Program addresses real-world military problems that require technical and entrepreneurial expertise. During the program, military sponsors must supply an Action Officer to engage with their fellows on a weekly basis. For the in-person Fellowship program, hosts expected to provide fellows regular on-base access to facilities and personnel where appropriate and relevant.

In the pilot cohort during the summer of 2019, forty-three students worked with fifteen military problem sponsors across many states to develop prototype capabilities that address real-world problem topics. Past participants came from Duke University, the University of North Carolina, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical University, the University of Virginia, Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of North Georgia, Florida Polytechnic University, Washington University in St. Louis, the University of Colorado Boulder, California State University, and the University of California San Diego.